Unite-CPHVA Annual Professional Conference

MacQueen Bursary

This award enables attendance at the Unite-CPHVA Annual Professional Conference 2019. Applicants must be Unite-CPHVA members who have qualified within the last two years OR have never previously attended a Unite-CPHVA Conference.

The CPHVA Education and Development Trust was created to fulfil the wishes of Dr Ian MacQueen, who was Medical Officer of Health in Aberdeen and a Vice President and Trustee of what was then the Health Visitors’ Association (HVA). Dr MacQueen believed passionately in the contribution that health visitors make to the health of the population, especially in public health, and he wished to support this work and also reward individual practitioners for work that demonstrated excellence.

Established in 1997, it made its first award in 1999. The Trust, a registered charity, is served by a committee of Trustee’s who are supported by a Professional Advisory Committee (PAC).

The Trust is committed to supporting Dr MacQueen’s wishes and strives to make its awards as varied and inclusive as possible.

This year we hope to support 8 community practitioners to attend the CPHVA Annual Professional Conference.

The award will provide a full two day conference ticket and £50 towards travel/ accommodation. Up to EIGHT awards are available.


  • You must be a CPHVA member
  • You must have qualified within the past 2 years or not previously attended a CPHVA conference.
  • You must be prepared to write a 300 word reflection on your conference experience (which the Trust may use as part of an article / future publicity).

Other information

Applications will be assessed and chosen by the Professional Advisory Committee of the Trust.

Successful applicants will receive a full conference ticket (both days) and £50 towards the cost of travel or accommodation (it is the individual’s responsibility to organise their own travel and accommodation).

Applicants will be advised if they have been successful, or not, as soon as possible.

Further details about the award and the application process are available from Lynne MacKinnon, member of the Professional Advisory Committee: Lynne.mackinnon@nhs.net

Submit application